Tropical Geometry and Integrable Systems


A workshop on these topics will take place from 3rd (arrival day) to 8th (departure day) July 2011. It is planned to have talks from 9am on 4th July until around 12pm on 8th. The main focus of this meeting will be on tropical geometry and its applications to integrable systems.

The purpose of the conference is to bridge the gap between the developments of recent years made on the pure mathematics side and problems arising in the context of integrable systems. Therefore we envisage six expository/review talks of one hour each which will be accessible to a wide range of researchers with different backgrounds.

If you plan to come, could you please confirm your attendance by emailing by June 1st 2011.

(Previously it was planned to have this conference on Islay as part of the series of ISLAND meetings but unfortunately the planned venue, the Machrie Hotel, went into administration at the end of 2010 and is closed for the foreseeable future. We tried to find a similar alternative venue but this has been impossible at short notice. There now seems to be only a very small chance that the Machrie will be sold and reopen in time for the conference. For this reason we have decided to move the workshop to Glasgow.)

Scientific organising committee

Rei Inoue (Chiba University, Japan)

Diane Maclagan (University of Warwick, UK)

Tetsuji Tokihiro (The University of Tokyo, Japan)

Alexander Veselov (Loughborough University, UK)

Confirmed list of invited speakers

Florian Block (University of Michigan, USA/Warwick, UK)

Jan Draisma (Technical University Eindhoven, The Netherlands)

Rei Inoue (Chiba University, Japan)

Shinsuke Iwao (The University of Tokyo, Japan)

Paul Johnson (Imperial College London, UK)

Diane Maclagan (University of Warwick, UK)

Toshiaki Maeno (Kyoto University, Japan)

Marta Mazzocco (Loughborough University, UK)

Tomoki Nakanishi (Nagoya University, Japan)

Junkichi Satsuma (Aoyama Gakuin University, Japan)

Michael Shapiro (Michigan State University, USA)

Testuji Tokihiro (The University of Tokyo, Japan)

Alexander Veselov (Loughborough University, UK)

Lauren Williams (University of California, Berkley , USA)