Current Position:


Professor of Mathematical Physics


2014-present: Head of Mathematics (within the School of Mathematics and Statistics)


Other Positions:


2014-15:          Vice-president, Edinburgh Mathematical Society


2015-2017:      President, Edinburgh Mathematical Society


2015-2018:      Member of the UK’s Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC) Strategic Advisory Team


2003-present:  Member of the EPSRC peer review college.



Previous University responsibilities:


2005-2010:      Member of Senate


2006-2010:      Associate Dean (Postgraduate) and Head of the Faculty of Information and Mathematical Sciences Graduate School


2008-2010:      Deputy Dean, Faculty of Information and Mathematical Sciences


2008-2009:      Convenor of the Heads of Graduate Schools Forum




Previous Positions:


2006-2011:      Reader, University of Glasgow

2005-2006:      Senior Lecture, University of Glasgow

2003-2005:      Lecturer in Applied Mathematics, University of Glasgow

1996-2003:      Lecturer in Pure Mathematics, University of Hull

1993-1995:      Wilfred Hall Research Fellow, University of Newcastle

1991-1993:      SERC Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Oxford University




Ph.D. (1991) Durham University


Thesis title: The Twistor Description of Integrable Systems

Supervisor, Prof. R.S.Ward, FRS


Durham University Physics Prize (1989)


Certification of Advanced Studies in Mathematics (Part III): Distinction


B.A. (1987) First Class Hon. Degree in Mathematics, Cambridge University (M.A. (1991)).


Entrance Scholarship, Trinity Hall, Cambridge, 1984.


Membership of Professional Bodies:


Member of the EPSRC peer review college, 2003-present


Member of the London Mathematical Society


Member of the Edinburgh Mathematical Society